top of page
Search

NYUSH 💜

Updated: Mar 28, 2020

Yes, that's correct. New York University Shanghai. Wait, isn't New York University in New York City? Well, yes that's the main campus. As well as the one in Abu Dhabi, and wouldn't you know, in Shanghai too. No, it's not an exchange program. It's a 4-year degree granting campus that requires everyone to pass a certain language requirement for Mandarin, offers a variety of courses that touches upon asian history, modern Chinese politics, martial arts, to international law, interactive media arts, erhu classes, etc. So, this university definitely integrates the mix of Chinese culture, language and global studies into their program.


Fun fact: NYUSH is quote "the first American college to receive independent registration status from China's Ministry of Education"...how COOL is that.


NYU has always been my first choice since I was a freshman in high school. I was first inspired by my older sister being interested in the school, campus, and environment. When I started looking into it, I loved the diversity, the limitless amount of majors (that the Shanghai campus has not offered yet), and the well-roundedness of it all. As soon as I got into Punahou as a Freshman back in 2013, my mom sat me down at a Starbucks and we wrote down my entire "timeline" of my high school career. Aspirations, short-term and long term goals I wanted to accomplish, sports I was interested in, clubs I wanted to be apart of, etc. On that list was narrowing down my college choices--mainly my first and second choices. As a freshman, I was already thinking about all of these things and I am so grateful that I thought about it earlier on. In times of typical Junior-year stress amongst a bunch of AP classes and preparing for the SAT, I remembered the various goals and my timeline that I laid out with my mom in Starbucks. It definitely helped to keep me motivated and sane through difficult times.


Another fun fact: I applied to 14 colleges. I know, I know. If you guys know me, I LOVE having options available. I would rather have a whole bunch of colleges to choose from rather than a limited amount of options to choose for me, if that makes sense. I got in to most of them, but I was so butt-hurt because I haven't heard back from the one, the only, NYU. I was nervous, and one day I literally google searched: "How to access NYU application status" or something along those lines. There was a NYU website that led me through the steps with how to access my application status, and behold it was waiting to be open. I remember sitting at the dining room table with my mom right next to me, and I was A NERVOUS WRECK. My mom had no clue what I was doing and I showed no emotion because I wanted to be the one to see my application first. I was so nervous and my emotions were so back and forth between whether or not to open it right now. But I literally said screw it , and opened it. I could not look at the screen for such a long time but when I did I literally could not believe it. I didn't say anything I just gasped and gaped. My mom kept repeating omg what? what? Tenielle omg what's up? I still haven't said anything as I'm looking dead at my screen, and she turns my laptop around and just starts screaming and cheering for me. This was one of the most scariest but greatest moments, ever.


Now, look at me, official an NYU Shanghai student! 🤓



Shanghai, China 🇨🇳

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Time to Catch Up!🥰

HELLO!🤩 I know, I know my last post was literally almost a year ago I can't even believe it! But, I'm back and ready more than ever to catch you all up on my life ✨ I have seriously been so occupied

Take care of your priorities, mindset, and energy🌟💋

In these very uncertain and changing times, it’s difficult to really get a definite and sure answer that what you planned will be for sure. At least, that’s the most challenging obstacle for me now. I

How to Deal with Major Uncertainty?💆🏽‍♀️

You deal with what you know is certain. Let me get back to this. First, I want to address one thing: And I hope that didn't sound scary either. In the midst of all this chaos going on: global public h

bottom of page