top of page
Search

Cultural Divides ‼️

Updated: Mar 28, 2020

So, yes if you were a local in Hawai'i and heard Chinese come out of my mouth you would most likely be surprised 😂. I am mixed with Hawaiian, Samoan 🇦🇸🇼🇸, and Caucasian (just the top three out of many #mixedgirlprobs 😝), and for me to be so interested in taking Chinese and living in China, man is that a story to tell.


Well, based off of my previous post about why I chose to take Chinese and study abroad in China, there definitely comes cultural divides. However, what's more interesting is that when I studied abroad my first time as a Junior in Beijing (2016-2017), living with my host family actually made me see more similarities to my Polynesian culture than differences. We both share the importance and love of family, filial piety (respecting elders and taking care of children), sacredness of food, pride of our culture, etc. This definitely helped me assimilate to a foreign environment.


However, there are differences like how straightforward Chinese people are. I remember I asked my Chinese teacher how to say please or ask for something nicely. She took a long pause and responded "请" qing but then later proceeded to explain that they don't usually say that, they just ask for what they want, and there is no rude connotation that comes off. I actually LOVE that because my personality is very straightforward and I just love when people tell me what they want instead of trying to act nice or be polite. I don't take things too personally, and I think it's just better to get to the point instead of beating around the bush.


Personal space? Chinese people never heard of that. In subways I swear I have been smashed so many times by Chinese kids, old ladies, old men, etc. Until you're kissing their shoulder, would I think they would move an inch 😂. Everyone is on the move all the time, and they will not hesitate to pop that space bubble anytime if you are in their way...watch out!


But little do you know, these cultural divides sparks unity, many friendships, and relationships. NYUSH does a great job at fostering these divides, and bridging our cultural differences together to form unity and harmony. This is what the world needs more of.


(best) Communications lab! Spring semester '19



26 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Time to Catch Up!🥰

HELLO!🤩 I know, I know my last post was literally almost a year ago I can't even believe it! But, I'm back and ready more than ever to catch you all up on my life ✨ I have seriously been so occupied

Take care of your priorities, mindset, and energy🌟💋

In these very uncertain and changing times, it’s difficult to really get a definite and sure answer that what you planned will be for sure. At least, that’s the most challenging obstacle for me now. I

How to Deal with Major Uncertainty?💆🏽‍♀️

You deal with what you know is certain. Let me get back to this. First, I want to address one thing: And I hope that didn't sound scary either. In the midst of all this chaos going on: global public h

bottom of page